Sports Hall of Fame Kids Autograph Session

LASportsHoFYouth ages 8-18 can get autographs from some of Louisiana’s biggest sports celebrities for free from 10-11 o’clock Saturday morning, June 29, at the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Kids Autograph Session sponsored by Raising Cane’s and the Natchitoches Parish Sheriff’s Office.

The event will be held at Prather Coliseum on the Northwestern State campus. Pre-registration is requested by visiting the Raising Cane’s store on Keyser Ave. in Natchitoches, allowing kids to bypass registration procedures on the morning of the autograph party. Pre-registration is also available by visiting the website.

No items – such as jerseys, photos, athletic gear, T-shirts, caps – should be brought to be signed. They will not be allowed in the coliseum arena. A specially designed autograph sheet and pens will be provided.

The signing is restricted to youth, not adults. Those who do not pre-register can begin registration at 9:15 a.m. on June 29.

All youths attending will be fingerprinted by the Sheriff’s Office to assist with protective services, as part of the NPSO youth safety program.

The 2013 Hall of Fame inductees and other Hall of Fame members will sign throughout the hour-long free event presented by the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Foundation.

Basketball superstar Shaquille O’Neal, women’s tennis great Chanda Rubin and eight-time NFL Pro Bowl selection Kevin Mawae headline a sparkling 2013 induction class.

LSU football passing king Tommy Hodson and nationally-acclaimed jockey Ronald Ardoin, a Carencro native, are joined in the 2013 class by Grambling basketball legend James Jones, a Tallulah native who made the all-time team of the American Basketball Association.

Jonesville native Ervin Johnson, whose unlikely 13-year NBA career was launched at a grocery store and took root at the University of New Orleans, is the third pro basketball standout in the group.

Among others expected to participate is Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon of LSU football fame along with other past inductees in the Hall of Fame, including legendary LSU basketball coach Dale Brown.