NSU Theatre to present “Hairspray” Feb. 19-23

class=”aligncenter size-full wp-image-35009″ alt=”Hairspray” src=”http://klax-tv.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Hairspray.jpg” width=”500″ height=”281″ />NATCHITOCHES  — Northwestern State University Theatre and Dance will present the musical “Hairspray” Feb. 19-23 in the A.A. Fredericks Auditorium. Showtime is 7:30 p.m. on Feb. 19-22 with a 2 p.m. matinee on Feb. 23.

Tickets are $15 and $12 for senior citizens 65 and over and children 12 and under. Northwestern State, BPCC@NSU and Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts students are admitted free with a current student I.D.

“Hairspray” is a musical based on the 1988 John Waters film of the same name and is a social commentary on the injustices of parts of American society in the 1960s. The songs include 1960s-style dance music and rhythm and blues. The play is set in Baltimore where teenager Tracy Turnblad’s dream is to dance on the Corny Collins Show, a local TV dance program. When Tracy wins a role on the show, she becomes a celebrity overnight and meets a colorful array of characters such as Collins, the show’s singing host, and Velma Von Tussle, the villainous producer of the show.

“This show celebrates individual tolerance and the spirit of youth,” said Director Pia Wyatt. “It tells you that it’s OK to be different and that one determined person can make a difference. ‘Hairspray’ has fantastic music, awesome dancing and touches on a number of important issues.”

The cast is Christian Dantes of Shreveport as Edna Turnblad, Addie Wilson of St. Amant as Tracy Turnblad, Luke Matherne of Laplace as Link Larkin, Sarah Roberts of Harrison, Tenn., as Penny Pingleton, Hannah Hays of Baton Rouge as Prudy Pingleton/Gym Teacher and Matron, DeAngelo Renard of Mandeville as Seaweed J. Stubbs, Holli’ Conway of Monroe as Little Inez, Marissa McMickens of Pineville as Amber Von Tussle and Matt Carroll of Lafitte as Collins.

The cast also includes Alexia Mullally of Houston as Velma Von Tussle, Patrick Mahoney of Abita Springs as Harriman F. Spritzer, Michael Carrier of Lafayette as Wilbur Turnblad, Taylor Smith of Leesville as Brad, Grace Brumfield of Prairieville as Tammy, Travis Story of Mabank, Texas, as Fender, Catherine Mahan of Gonzales as Brenda, Josh DeAlba of Apopka, Fla., as Sketch, Alyssa Farmer of Shreveport as Shelley, Braxton Hogan of Natchitoches as IQ, Victoria Cormier of Lake Charles as Lou Ann, Leonard Harris of Baker as Stooie, L.G. Williams of New Orleans as Thad and Jacoby Galude of Duson as Gilbert.

Members of the cast also include Courtney Matthews of Kenner as Lorraine, Charles Anderson Jr. of Alexandria as Duane, Breanna Collier of Bossier City, Jori Jackson of Shreveport and Shangobunni McAlpine of New Orleans as The Dynamites, Dillon DeWitt of Texas City, Texas as Mr. Pinky, Cameron Metrejean of Lafayette as the Principal, Tyler Price of New Orleans as Motormouth Maybelle and Claire Laurent of Laplace, Grace Vogel of Metairie, Jasey Gilbert of Benton, Hally Lambert of St. Amant, Shannon Harger of Baton Rouge and Nina Breeland of Ruston as Jail Cell/Denizens of Baltimore.

Brandi Roessler of Westlake and Shelby Noustens of Destrehan are the props designers. Brandi DiMatteo of Folsom is stage manager and Austin Ashbrenner of Beebe, Ark., and Savannah Callais of Cut Off are assistant stage managers.  Nick Lena of Pineville is sound advisor and Jonathan Carruth of Slidell and Ebony Johnson of New Orleans are sound engineers and Erika Stanford of Opelousas is sound operator.

Phil Kidd is the technical director and Andrew Lewis is musical director. Will Sawyer of Fulshear, Texas, is the set designer and Jessie Parr is the costume designer.