Chancellor Search Committee Named at LSUA

class=”alignleft wp-image-21010″ style=”margin-left: 4px; margin-right: 4px;” title=”LSUA-Logo” src=”” alt=”” width=”200″ height=”200″ />Louisiana State University System President Dr. William L. Jenkins has named a 20-member search committee of faculty, staff, and students, as well as community leaders to select the next chancellor for LSU Alexandria.

Dr. Haywood Joiner, chair of LSU Alexandria’s Department of Allied Health, and Charles S. Weems, III, a local attorney and chair of the LSUA Foundation Board will co-chair the panel that will recommend finalists for the post to the LSU Board of Supervisors. The LSU Board of Supervisors will ultimately choose the new chancellor to succeed Dr. David Manuel, who is set to begin serving as chancellor of Drury University in Springfield, Missouri, in May.

LSU Alexandria’s Interim Chancellor Dr. Paul Coriel said in a message to committee members that Jenkins expects the committee to conclude preliminary procedures by July/August, so that the search can get under way after incoming LSU President Dr. King Alexander arrives in July.

Search committee members in addition to Joiner and Weems include:

Dr. Elizabeth Beard, Asst. Prof., Arts, English & Humanities

Ms. Lynette Burlew, Director, HRM Finance & Admin. Services

Mr. Jeremy Campbell, Alumnus, Physical Therapist Central LH Rehab Specialists

Ms. Hannah Chaumont, Student, CMST Major

Ms. Connie Cooper, Alumnus, Exec. Dir. Habitat for Humanity

Ms. Aloysia Ducote, CPA, LSUA Foundation Board

Mr. Randy Gilchrist, CEO, Gilchrist Construction, Chamber of Commerce

Dr. Barbara Hatfield, Vice Chancellor & Provost, Academic and Student Affairs

Ms. Sheila Hudson, Enrollment Management Officer, Chancellor’s Office

Dr. Bonnie Hines, Director, Library Services

Ms. Kionna LeMalle, Asst. Prof., Education

Mr. Ethan Lipsey, Student, Psychology

Dr. Nathan Ponder, Assoc. Prof. Dept. Chair, Math & Physical Sciences

Dr. Judy Rundell, Prof. Dept. Chair, Education

Dr. Susan Sullivan, Assoc. Prof., Biological Sciences

Dr. Mary Trenting, Prof., Behavioral & Social Sciences

Dr. Rob Wright, Asst. Prof., Behavioral & Social Sciences

Mr. Stephen Wright, CEO Christus St. Francis Cabrini Hospital, LSUA Foundation Board

Ms. Davia Berry, Assistant, Student Advising Office (administrative staff support).

As the only state-supported undergraduate university in Louisiana, LSU Alexandria’s mission is to provide a broad spectrum of affordable undergraduate degrees in a robust academic environment that challenges students to excel and creates proactive and reciprocal relationships that meet the needs of the diverse student body and community that it serves.