Qualifying Ends for Special Congressional Election

class=”alignleft size-full wp-image-31641″ style=”margin: 2px 4px;” alt=”SOSSeal” src=”http://klax-tv.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/SOSSeal.png” width=”142″ height=”134″ />It’s the final day of qualifying for the special election in the 5th Congressional District and 14 men are in the hunt.  Some say this is the longest list the district has seen in years.  They all are running in the October 19th election to fill the unexpired term of Rodney Alexander.

The candidates are: Eliot Barron from New Orleans, Tom Gibbs of Fairbanks, Henry Herford Junior of Delhi, PSC Commissioner Clyde Holloway of Forest Hill, State Representative Marcus Hunter of Monroe, State Representative Robert Johnson of Marksville, Mayor Jamie Mayo of Monroe, Vance McAllister of Monroe, Representative Jay Morris of Monroe, Senator Neil Riser of Columbia, Weldon Russell of Amite, Blake Weatherly of Calhoun, Peter Williams of Lettsworth and Samir Zaitoon of Baton Rouge.

A candidate does not have to live in the district to run for this seat.  The run-off is November 16th.

KLAX ABC 31 News 8/21/13