3 Local Senators Appointed to Chairmanships

Three area senators are appointed to chairmanships in the new Louisiana Legislature during Monday’s swearing in ceremony.

Eric LaFleur of Ville Platte will chair the tax-writing finance committee. John Smith of Leesville runs the insurance panel. And, Neil Riser of Columbia runs the labor and industrial committee.

Riser has already said he will oppose the governor’s plan to increase the minimum wage.

Chairmen can be powerful, because they schedule the bills that are to be heard.

KLAX ABC 31 News 1/13/16

ATTENTION DISH customers, despite KLAX TV's best efforts to stay on the air, DISH is threatening to drop this channel. If this happens, you can no longer see your favorite programming live on DISH. Call dish today at 1-800-333-3474 and tell them to stop the blackouts!